

SHIRE OF WAGIN

SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL Minutes 22 October 2019

1. DECLARATION OF OPENING

The Chief Executive Officer declared the meeting open at 6.30 pm

2. ATTENDANCE, APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE (PREVIOUSLY APPROVED)

Present: J P Reed Member

D G Reed Member
L A Lucas Member
G R Ball Member
B L Kilpatrick Member

P J Blight Councillor Elect
G K B West Councillor Elect
W J Longmuir Councillor Elect
B S Hegarty Councillor Elect
S M Chilcott Councillor Elect

Staff: Mr P R Webster Chief Executive Officer

Mr A Hicks Manager of Works

Apologies: Mr B A Roderick Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Gallery: Nil

3. DISCLOSURE OF FINANCIAL AND OTHER INTERESTS

Nil

4. SWEARING IN OF COUNCILLORS

Peter R Webster JP officiated the swearing in ceremony for the councillors who were declared elected unopposed by the Returning Officer at the close nominations Thursday, 12 September 2019.

Councillors: Phillip J Blight, Wade J Longmuir, Bronwyn S Hegarty, Sherryl M Chilcott and Geoffrey K B West.

Made the declaration and Affirmation/Oath of allegiance before Mr Peter R Webster JP. In part Schedule 2.3 of the *Local Government Act 1995* provides;



5. ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT AND DEPUTY PRESIDENT

5.1 SHIRE PRESIDENT

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for the office of Shire President.

The Shire President is to be elected by the Council from amongst the Councillors.

Cr G R Ball nominated Cr J P Blight Cr L A Lucas seconded the nomination. Cr P J Blight accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations the Chief Executive Officer declared Cr P J Blight elected to the position of Shire President for a term of two years.

5.2 ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for the office of Deputy Shire President.

Cr B L Kilpatrick nominated Cr G R Ball Cr S M Chilcott seconded the nomination. Cr Ball accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations Chief Executive Officer declared Cr G R Ball elected to the position of Deputy Shire President for a term of two years.

Cr Blight and Cr Ball made declarations by an elected member for the position of President and Deputy Shire President before Mr Peter Webster JP.

6. ALLOTMENT OF SEATING FOR ELECETED MEMBERS

In accordance with standing order's allotment of seating took place with Councillors taking up their respective seats.



7. APPOINTMENT OF COUNCILLORS TO VARIOUS COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE	MANAGER	NOMINATIONS
COUNCIL		
Finance and General Purposes Committee	MF	Blight, Ball, J Reed, Kilpatrick and Hegarty
Works and Service Committee	MOW	West, Ball, J Reed, Kilpatrick & Longmuir
Asset Management Committee		West, D Reed, Chilcott & J Reed
Audit Committee	MF	Blight, Ball, J Reed, Kilpatrick and Hegarty
4WDL	CEO	Blight & Hegarty
CEO Review Committee	CEO	Blight & Ball
Great Southern Regional Waste Group		CEO & West
Airport Development	CEO	West, Blight, Chilcott, Lucas & Kilpatrick
Bushfire Advisory Committee	CEO	Blight & Lucas
Roadwise / LEMC & Safer WA Committee	CEO	Blight & Lucas
Sportsground Advisory / Recreation Centre Management Committee	DCEO	West, D Reed, Chilcott and Longmuir
Tourism and Promotion	CEO	West & Chilcott
Townscape Enhancement Committee	DCEO	West, D Reed & Chilcott
Waste Management and Recycling Committee	PEHO/CEO	J Reed, Lucas & West
Wagin/ Woodanilling Landcare Zone		Kilpatrick & CEO
WALGA Central Zone	CEO	Blight, Ball (Kilpatrick – proxy)
Lakes Sub – Regional Road Group	CEO	ТВА
OTHER		
Civic Awards Committee	CEO	Blight, Ball & CEO
Community Bus Committee	DCEO	West
Economic Development Advisory Committee	CEO	Blight, J Reed & Longmuir
Community Centre Committee		Lucas
Community Resource Centre		D Reed
Cottage Homes Committee		West & J Reed
Development Assessment Panels		West & Ball (Kilpatrick & Hegarty – proxy)
Frail Aged Homes Committee/Warratah		Chilcott
Historical Village Committee		J Reed & Chilcott
Piesseville Hall		Blight
Parents & Citizens Association		Longmuir
School Bus Committee		Ball
Woolorama Committee		Kilpatrick (West – Proxy)



COUNCIL DECISION

Moved: Cr J P Reed Seconded: Cr S M Chilcott

That the following Councillors be appointed to the following Committees.

COMMITTEE	MANAGER	NOMINATIONS
COUNCIL		
Finance and General Purposes Committee	MF	Blight, Ball, J Reed, Kilpatrick and Hegarty
Works and Service Committee	MOW	West, Ball, J Reed, Kilpatrick & Longmuir
Asset Management Committee		West, D Reed, Chilcott & J Reed
Audit Committee	MF	Blight, Ball, J Reed, Kilpatrick and Hegarty
4WDL	CEO	Blight & Hegarty
CEO Review Committee	CEO	Blight & Ball
Great Southern Regional Waste Group		CEO & West
Airport Development	CEO	West, Blight, Chilcott, Lucas & Kilpatrick
Bushfire Advisory Committee	CEO	Blight & Lucas
Roadwise / LEMC & Safer WA Committee	CEO	Blight & Lucas
Sportsground Advisory / Recreation Centre Management Committee	DCEO	West, D Reed, Chilcott and Longmuir
Tourism and Promotion	CEO	West & Chilcott
Townscape Enhancement Committee	DCEO	West, D Reed & Chilcott
Waste Management and Recycling Committee	PEHO/CEO	J Reed, Lucas & West
Wagin/ Woodanilling Landcare Zone		Kilpatrick & CEO
WALGA Central Zone	CEO	Blight, Ball (Kilpatrick – proxy)
Lakes Sub – Regional Road Group	CEO	ТВА
OTHER		
Civic Awards Committee	CEO	Blight, Ball & CEO
Community Bus Committee	DCEO	West
Economic Development Advisory Committee	CEO	Blight, J Reed & Longmuir
Community Centre Committee		Lucas
Community Resource Centre		D Reed
Cottage Homes Committee		West & J Reed
Development Assessment Panels		West & Ball (Kilpatrick & Hegarty – proxy)
Frail Aged Homes Committee/Warratah		Chilcott
Historical Village Committee		J Reed & Chilcott
Piesseville Hall		Blight
Parents & Citizens Association		Longmuir
School Bus Committee		Ball
Woolorama Committee		Kilpatrick (West – Proxy)

Carried 10/0



8. CLOSURE

There being no further business the Chairperson thanked those in attendance and closed the meeting at 7.21 pm.

I certify that this copy of the Minutes is a true and correct record of the meeting held on 22 October 2019

Signed:

Presiding Elected Member

Date: 26- 11-19.