

# **MINUTES**

# ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING BUSHFIRE ADVISORY COMMITTEE



#### DISCLAIMER

No responsibility is implied or accepted by the Shire of Wagin for any act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or committee meetings.

The Shire of Wagin disclaims any liability for any loss whatsoever and howsoever caused arising out of reliance by any person or legal entity on any such act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or committee meetings.

Any person or legal entity who acts or fails to act in reliance upon any statement, act or omission made in a Council or committee meeting does so at that person's or legal entity's own risk.

In particular and without detracting in any way from the broad disclaimer above, in any discussion regarding any planning application or application for a licence, any statement or intimation of approval made by any member or officer of the Shire of Wagin during the course of any meeting is not intended to be and is not taken as notice of approval from the Shire of Wagin

The Shire of Wagin advises that anyone who has any application lodged with the Shire of Wagin shall obtain and should only rely on **WRITTEN CONFIRMATION** of the outcome of the application, and any conditions attaching to the decision made by the Shire of Wagin in respect of the application.

Kenneth Parker
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER





# **SHIRE OF WAGIN**

Minutes for the Annual General Meeting of the Bushfire Advisory Committee held in the Council Chambers, Wagin on Tuesday 03 April 2024.

# **CONTENTS**

	CONTENTS	
		,
1.	OFFICIAL OPENING	
2.	RECORD OF ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES/LEAVE OF ABSENCE (PREVIOUSLY APPROVED)	
2.1	ATTENDANCE4	
2.2	APOLOGIES4	
3.	DECLARATION OF FINANCIAL AND OTHER INTERESTS	
4.	CONFIRMATION OF PREVIOUS MEETING MINUTES4	
5.	CHIEF BUSHFIRE CONTROL OFFICERS REPORT5	
6.	ELECTIONS OF OFFICE BEARERS5	
6.1	CHAIRPERSON	
6.2	CHIEF BUSHFIRE CONTROL OFFICER	
6.3	DEPUTY CHIEF BUSHFIRE CONTROL OFFICER 1	
6.3.1	DEPUTY CHIEF BUSHFIRE CONTROL OFFICER 2	
6.4	FIRE CONTROL OFFICERS	
6.4.1	SHIRE OFFICE – TOWN FIRE PERMITS6	
6.5	BRIGADE CAPTAINS	
6.6	CHIEF FIRE WEATHER OFFICER7	
6.7	FIRE WEATHER COMMITTEE8	
6.8	DUAL FIRE CONTROL OFFICERS8	
6.9	CLOVER BURNING PERMIT OFFICER 9	
7.	GENERAL BUSINESS9	
8	CLOSURE 9	



#### 1. OFFICIAL OPENING

The Chairperson opened the meeting 7.05pm.

# 2. RECORD OF ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES/LEAVE OF ABSENCE (PREVIOUSLY APPROVED)

#### 2.1 ATTENDANCE

Phil Blight Chairperson

Ross Goldsmith Brigade Captain – Piesseville

Carol Goldsmith BFB Member
Chris Piesse BFB Member

Steve Angwin
Wade Brockway
Brigade Captain – Lime Lake
Xavier White
Chief Bushfire Control Officer

Cam Forrest VFRS Captain
Jack Stallard VFRS Vice Captain

Ian McDougall Brigade Captain - Wedgecarrup

Phil Ward BFB Member

Paul Blechynden DFES District Officer
Donna George Community Liaison Officer – Shire of Wagin

John Fathers DCEO- Shire of Wagin

#### 2.2 APOLOGIES

Shaun Robinson Dual FCO

Anthony Rowell Brigade Captain – Cancanning

Lyn Lucas BFB Member

Cam Clifton Brigade Captain - Badjarning

Bryn Becker BFB Member

#### 3. DECLARATION OF FINANCIAL AND OTHER INTERESTS

#### 4. CONFIRMATION OF PREVIOUS MEETING MINUTES

#### **COMMITTEE RECOMENDATION**

Moved I McDougall Seconded W Brockway

That the minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Bushfire Advisory Committee held on 11 April 2023 and circulated to all Councillors and Committee Members, be confirmed as a true and accurate record.

Carried 11/0



#### 5. CHIEF BUSHFIRE CONTROL OFFICERS REPORT

#### **COMMITTEE RECOMENDATION**

Moved C Goldsmith Seconded J Stallard

That the Committee recommend that Council receive the Chief Bushfire Control Officer Annual Bushfire Report.

Carried 11/0

#### 6. ELECTIONS OF OFFICE BEARERS

All positions declared vacant; meeting passed to John Fathers to preside over the vote. J Fathers identified the position of Chairperson as a two-year term.

#### **6.1 CHAIRPERSON**

P Blight was nominated by X White, there being no further nominations P Blight was declared Chairperson and resumed running the meeting.

#### 6.2 CHIEF BUSHFIRE CONTROL OFFICER

X White was nominated by R Goldsmith, there being no further nominations X White was declared as Chief Bushfire Control Officer

# 6.3 DEPUTY CHIEF BUSHFIRE CONTROL OFFICER 1

W Brockway was nominated by C Piesse, there being no further nominations, W Brockway was declared as Deputy Chief Bushfire Control Officer 1.

#### 6.3.1 DEPUTY CHIEF BUSHFIRE CONTROL OFFICER 2

C Piesse was nominated by P Ward, there being no further nominations, C Piesse was declared as Deputy Chief Bushfire Control Officer 2.

# 6.4 FIRE CONTROL OFFICERS

The following members were nominated as Fire Control Officers for 2024/25:

- S Angwin
- B Becker
- W Brockway
- C Clifton
- C Goldsmith
- R Goldsmith
- L Lucas
- I McDougall

- C Piesse
- S Robinson
- A Rowell
- T Storer
- G Thompson
- P Ward
- X White



# 6.4.1 SHIRE OFFICE – TOWN FIRE PERMITS

- Z Enright
- D George
- D Stephens

#### **COMMITTEE RECOMENDATION**

#### **Moved P Ward**

#### Seconded R Goldsmith

That the Committee recommend to Council that the following Fire Control Officer appointments be made:

# **FIRE CONTROL OFFICERS**

- S Angwin
- B Becker
- W Brockway
- C Clifton
- C Goldsmith
- R Goldsmith
- L Lucas
- I McDougall
- C Piesse
- S Robinson
- A Rowell
- T Storer
- G Thompson
- P Ward
- X White

# **SHIRE OFFICER - TOWN FIRE PERMITS**

- Z Enright
- D George
- D Stephens

Carried 11/0



#### **6.5 BRIGADE CAPTAINS**

## **COMMITTEE RECOMENDATION**

Moved I McDougall Seconded C Piesse

That the Committee recommend to Council that the following Bushfire Brigade Captain appointments be made:

#### **BADJARNING**

C Clifton was declared elected as Captain for Badjarning Brigade

# **BALLAYING**

X White was declared elected as Captain for Ballaying Brigade

#### CANCANNING

A Rowell was declared elected as Captain for Cancanning Brigade

#### **LIME LAKE**

W Brockway was declared elected as Captain for Lime Lake Brigade

#### **PIESSEVILLE**

R Goldsmith was declared elected as Captain for Piesseville Brigade

#### **WEDGECARRUP**

I McDougall was declared elected as Captain for Wedgecarrup Brigade

#### WAGIN TOWN

C Forrest was declared elected as Captain for Wagin Town Brigade

Carried 11/0

#### 6.6 CHIEF FIRE WEATHER OFFICER

This position will be delegated to the Chief Bush Fire Control Officer.



#### **6.7 FIRE WEATHER COMMITTEE**

#### **COMMITTEE RECOMENDATION**

Moved P Ward Seconded J Stallard

That the Committee recommend to Council that the following Fire Weather Committee appointments be made:

# **FIRE WEATHER COMMITTEE**

- R Goldsmith
- I McDougall
- C Piesse
- S Angwin
- W Brockway
- X White
- A Rowell

Carried 13/0

#### **6.8 DUAL FIRE CONTROL OFFICERS**

#### **COMMITTEE RECOMENDATION**

Moved I McDougall Seconded W Brockway

That the Committee recommend to Council that the following Dual Fire Control Officer appointments be made:

# **DUMBLEYUNG**

S Angwin

X White

#### NARROGIN

R Goldsmith

C Piesse

# WOODANILLING

W Brockway

I McDougall

#### **WILLIAMS**

C Piesse

# **WEST ARTHUR**

S Robinson

#### **WICKEPIN**

S Angwin

Carried 11/0



# **6.9 CLOVER BURNING PERMIT OFFICER**

Chief Bush Fire Control Officer - X White

#### **COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION**

Moved R Goldsmith Seconded P Ward

That the Committee recommend to Council that the following Clover Burning Permit Officer appointment be made:

# **CLOVER BURNING PERMIT OFFICER**

X White - Chief Bushfire Control Officer

Carried 11/0

#### 7. GENERAL BUSINESS

Nil

# 8. CLOSURE

There being no further business the Chairperson thanked those in attendance and closed the meeting at 7.30pm

I certify that this copy of the Minutes is a true and correct record of the meeting held on 11 April 2023
Signed:
Chairperson
Date: