Fire Control

Council has distributed a Fire Management Requirements 2018 - 2019 booklet to all ratepayers. It is important that owners and/or occupiers of land in the Shire comply with the requirements of the firebreak notice. Severe penalties apply for non-compliance.

Property owners are advised to consider early spraying and burning of blocks. This will greatly reduce problems which may arise during the restricted and prohibited burning times.

The periods for 2018/2019 are as follows:

Restricted Burning Time

October 1st  – October 31st 2018

February 15th 2019 – April 30th 2019

Prohibited Burning Time

November 1st 2018 – February 14th 2019

These times are subject to change so please check with your Fire Control Officer.

Fire Control Officers

Fire Control Officers
Chief Fire Control Officer R Goldsmith 9861 1529
Deputy Fire Control Officer Xavier White 0438 611 126
Warup West Geoff Abbott 9862 6081
Warup Ian McDougall 9862 2049
Parkeyerring Wade Brockway 9861 1061
Puntapin Bruce Johnson 9861 1452
Base Carol Goldsmith 9861 1529
Piesseville West Chris Piesse 9885 8072
Belmont Park Malcolm Edward 9861 1240
Cancanning Anthony Rowell 9861 6015
Cancanning North Steve Angwin 9861 6053
Norring Tristan Moffatt 0429 002 446
Badgarning Cam Clifton 0448 612  033
Shire Peter Webster 9861 1177

Wagin Base will operate on UHF Emergency Channel 5. If attending a fire, Brigade members are asked to switch to this channel.
On a harvest ban day Wagin Base will announce results of weather checks at twenty minutes part the hour on this channel.

Harvest Ban Info Line call 0438 013 123 during the fire season.

With the bushfire season upon us, a website has been developed with tips and advice for Western Australian communities across the State to ensure their homes are bushfire ready  Are you Ready